VECTORDEFENCE DRONE
INTELLIGENCE
INDEPENDENT PERSPECTIVE
THE EVOLVING FIELD GUIDE
Editor

Air · Loitering munition

Innovaero OWL-B

Australian electric loitering aircraft under an ASCA delivery-phase contract with official exercise evidence.

Role & capabilities

  • Precision loitering flight
  • Autonomous mission management
Order / production commitmentOrder / production commitment
Primary domain
Air
System type
Loitering munition
Developer / manufacturer
Innovaero
Origin / production countries
Australia
Other names
No additional names recorded
Variants / configurations
Not distinguished in reviewed sources
Operators / programme customers
Not identified in reviewed sources

Evidence & current status

Official contract and exercise evidence; not a declaration of fleet-wide operational acceptance.

OWL-B is Innovaero's electric loitering aircraft developed in Australia. It belongs to a wider OWL portfolio, but the electric B model is distinct from the jet-powered OWL-X and the larger OWL-C development. Shared branding does not establish shared dimensions, propulsion or maturity.

Australia's Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator states that Mission Talon-Strike entered a delivery phase in October 2025 through an eighteen-month contract with Innovaero for the OWL-B flight vehicle. This is firmer evidence than an exhibition announcement, although the programme page does not establish that a full operational fleet has completed acceptance.

Australian Defence subsequently identified OWL-B among the systems used during an AUKUS Maritime Big Play activity reported in February 2026. That provides official evidence of exercise use. The manufacturer describes an electric platform and reports a demonstrated range of up to two hundred kilometres; the public claim does not disclose the complete trial configuration. This profile records the contract and exercise separately, preserving the difference between a demonstrated capability, a delivery programme and routine service across an armed force.

Sourced specifications

Figures apply to the named configuration. Maximum values are not guaranteed operating performance.

SpecificationReported valueContext & source
AirframeNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
Launch / recoveryNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
PropulsionElectricPublished baseline for this model; maxima are not necessarily simultaneous. Source
DimensionsNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
MassNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
EnduranceNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
RangeUp to 200 km demonstrated, according to manufacturerTrial payload, weather and mission profile are not specified in the reviewed overview. Source
SpeedNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
AltitudeNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
PayloadNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
SensorsNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source
Communications / navigationNot established in the reviewed public sources.Public evidence gap. No estimate or neighbouring variant value has been substituted. Source

Documented milestones

  1. Official exercise report

    Australian Defence reported OWL-B use in AUKUS Maritime Big Play.

    Read the announcement

Publication history

  • — Published reference update.

Suggest a correction to this entry

Follow the evidence

Source types identify who makes the claim. Programme milestones and supplier statements should be read in context.

  1. ASCA Mission Talon-Strike (opens in a new tab)Government / programme
  2. Defence AUKUS exercise report, 19 February 2026 (opens in a new tab)Government / operator
  3. Innovaero current OWL portfolio (opens in a new tab)Manufacturer / programme

Explore the connections